top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSummer Elnowno

Capstone

Updated: Mar 3, 2021

During the Summer of 2018 I got the chance to study aboard in Hangzhou China at Zhejiang University of Science and Technology. This was my very first time outside of the United States and my first time on a plane. I was terrified to be traveling alone to a country I had never been to, but this is where I was able to grow the most. While on this trip I traveled to Shanghai, and Anhui Province to climb the Yellow Mountain. I was also able to stay with a host family and completely immerse myself in the Chinese language and culture. With the help of my language partner Silvia I was able to confidently improve in my communication skills and actively speak with locals. Through this experience I learned how to not be fearless, but how to take leaps even when you are fearful. I was able to interview Chinese students and foreign students at the school to understand how they view China and other cultures, sometimes I was the first foreigner some people I came in contact with saw. I slowly began to understand that how I view myself is not how others may view me. It was overall an eye opening experience which lead me to the decision that I would study aboard again in China and also continue explore other countries and cultures.

























45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reflection

Growing up I always envisioned myself travelling but I thought that this dream was so far away. I would pass by the airport and say to myself as I was watched the planes take off, "one day I'm going t

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page